ASSOCIATIONS AND ORGANIZATIONS - PDF Document

Presentation Transcript

  1. FILM: Resources ASSOCIATIONS AND ORGANIZATIONS Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (http://www.oscars.org)  Actors’ Equity (http://www.actorsequity.org)  American Federation of Television and Radio Actors (AFTRA) (http://www.sagaftra.com)  American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) (http://www.ascmag.com)  Art Directors Guild and Scenic, Title, and Graphic Artists (http://www.artdirectors.org)  Association of Film Commissioners International (AFCI) (http://www.afci.org) Directors Guild of America (DGA (http://www.dga.org)  Federation Internationale des Association de Producteurs de Films (FIAPF) (http://www.fiapf.org) Film Society of Lincoln Center (http://www.filmlinc.com)  IFP.org (http://www.ifp.org) International Alliance of Theatrical and Stage Employees (IATSE) (http://www.iatse-intl.org) International Animated Film Society (http://www.asifa-hollywood.org)  International Cinematographers Guild (ICG) (http://www.cameraguild.com)  International Documentary Association (IDA) (http://www.documentary.org)  Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) (http://www.mpaa.org)

  2. FILM: Resources  Motion Picture Editors Guild (http://www.editorsguild.com)  Producers Guild of America (PGA) (http://www.producersguild.org)  Screen Actors Guild (SAG) (http://www.sagaftra.org) Writers Guild of America (WGA) (http://wga.org) BOOKS AND PERIODICALS Books  Beyond the Red Carpet: Keys to Becoming a Successful Personal Assistant. By Dionne M. Muhammad (Authorhouse, 2006).  Breakfast with Sharks: A Screenwriter’s Guide to Getting the Meeting, Nailing the Pitch, Signing the Deal, and Navigating theMurky Waters of Hollywood. By Michael Lent (Three Rivers Press, 2004).  The Complete Film Production Handbook (3rd edition). By Eve Light Honthaner (Focal Press, 2001).  God, Man, and Hollywood: Politically Incorrect Cinema from The Birth of a Nation to The Passion of Christ. By Mark Royden Winchell (ISI Books, 2008).  Gods and Monsters. By Peter Biskind (Nation Books, 2004).  Hollywood Undercover: Revealing the Sordid Secrets of Tinseltown. By Ian Halperin (Mainstream Publishing Company, 2007).  The Mailroom: Hollywood History from the Bottom Up. By David Rensin (Ballantine Books, 2003).  Producing for Hollywood: A Guide for Independent Producers (2nd edition). By Paul Mason and Don Gold (Allworth Press, 2004).  The Sundance Kids: How the Mavericks Took Back Hollywood. By James Mottram (Faber and Faber, 2006).  This Business of Film: A Practical Guide to Achieving Success in the Film Industry. By Stephen R. Greenwald and Paula Landry (Lone Eagle, 2009).

  3. FILM: Resources  The Whole Equation: A History of Hollywood. By David Thomson (Knopf, 2004).  The X List: The National Society of Film Critics’ Guide to the Movies That Turn Us On. Edited by Jami Bernard (De Capo Press, 2005).  Writing from the Inside Out; Transforming Your Psychological Blocks to Release the Writer Within. By Dennis Palumbo (JohnWiley and Sons, 2000). Periodicals  American Cinematographer (http://www.ascmag.com)  Backstage (http://www.backstage.com)  Creative Screenwriting (http://www.creativescreenwriting.com)  Fade In (http://www.fadeinonline.com)  Filmmaker (http://www.filmmakermagazne.com)  Hollywood Reporter (http://www.hollywoodreporter.com)  ICG Magazine (http://www.icgmagazine.com)  MovieMaker (http://www.moviemaker.com)  Script Magazine (http://www.scriptmag.com)  Variety (http://www.variety.com)

  4. FILM: Resources OTHER MEDIA Films  Contempt (Le Mepris). (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0057345/)  Day for Night (La Nuit Americaine). (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070460/)  Get Shorty. (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0113161/)  Living in Oblivion. (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0113677/) DVDs  The Action/Cut Filmmaking DVD Pro Collection http://www.actioncut.com/hfc/dvdcollection.htm  Hollywood Camera Work: The Master Course in High-End Blocking and Staging http://www.hollywoodcamerawork.us/  Independent Filmmaking Using Gorilla http://www.writersstore.com/independent-filmmaking-using-gorilla-software-tutorial  Truby’s Great Screenwriting Class DVD http://www.truby.com/learn_classes_inside.html WEB SITES Career Development  American Film Institute (http://www.afi.com)  Atlantic Television (http://www.atlantictv.com)  Central Casting (http://www.centralcasting.org)  EntertainmentCareers.Net (http://www.entertainmentcareers.net)  The Film School Directory (http://www.filmschools.com)  Film Staff (http://www.filmstaff.com)

  5. FILM: Resources  Hollywood Film Institute (https://www.facebook.com/Hollywood-Film-Institute-Dov-Simens-2-Day-Film-School- 158128377647929/)  IMDb, The Internet Movie Database (http://www.imdb.com)  Interactives: Cinema (http://www.learner.org/interactives/cinema)  Showbizjobs.com (http://www.showbizjobs.com)  Sun Oasis (http://www.sunoasis.com)  Theatr Group (http://www.theatrgroup.com)  Variety (http://www.variety.com)  Wikipedia (http://www.wikipedia.org)  Writers Store (http://www.writersstore.com) Festivals and Contests  Contests for Screenwriters (http://www.filmmakers.com/contests)  4,000 Film Festivals (http://www.fest21.com)  Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting (http://www.oscars.org/awards/nicholl/index.html)  Without a Box (http://withoutabox.com)