Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007

Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007

This article by Maria Carmen Zamora Apsay explores the history and developments of the Liberal Party (LP) in the Philippines since 2007. Founded by Manuel Roxas

About Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007

PowerPoint presentation about 'Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007'. This presentation describes the topic on This article by Maria Carmen Zamora Apsay explores the history and developments of the Liberal Party (LP) in the Philippines since 2007. Founded by Manuel Roxas. The key topics included in this slideshow are . Download this presentation absolutely free.

Presentation Transcript

Slide1Developments in the  Liberal Party since 2007by Maria Carmen Zamora-Apsay

Slide2The Liberal Party The Liberal Party (LP) was founded on 19 January 1946 by Manuel Roxas, the first President of the Third Philippine Republic.  The second oldest Political Party in the Philippines, the Liberal Party (LP) is considered an institution of Philippines sociopolitical life. Formed after World War II by Pres. Manuel A. Roxas, it has consistently provided the country with strong leadership, especially in times of crisis.  It is a Party whose history is filled with sacrifice; its members and leaders have been known to give their very lives just to see Freedom and Liberty reign in the Philippines. During moments of moral ambiguity in Philippine Politics, government officials and the media always look towards where the LP will go as an indication on what may be the right decision or stand on an issue.

Slide3Party officialsChairman Emeritus : Former Senate President Jovito Salonga (1982-present) Chairman : Sen.Franklin Drilon (2006-present)

Slide4Party officialsPresident : Former Sen. Manuel Roxas II (present) Executive Vice President : H.E. Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III

Slide5Party officialsVice President for Policy : Sec. Florencio Abad, Department of Budget & Management Secretary-General: Rep. Jun Abaya

Slide6Party officialsDirector-General: Atty. Jose Luis Martin C. Gascon, Esq Deputy Director-General: La Union Province Board Member Henry Bacunay, Jr.

Slide8Highlights within the LP 2005  The Liberal Party withdraws its support from the Arroyo Administration following controversies involving her election into office. LP cabinet officials resign from their posts along with other economic and social service secretaries.  2007  Liberal Party senatorial candidates Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan and Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III are elected in the office placing 5th and 6th respectively

Slide9Highlights within the LP - 2007 Institutionalization of Monthly Leaders’ Meeting.  LP Headquarters Greater Grassroots Work  August 21 Events  Media Workshop for Liberals  International Relations

Slide10Highlights within the LP2008-2009  Strengthening   National Machinery for 2010  Assembly of Liberal Board Members in December of 2008  Forum with Mr. Joe Hannsen, chief strategist for Pres. Barack Obama

Slide11Highlights within the LP2008-2009  Liberal Party-AKBAYAN (Citizens’ Action Party) Alliance  August 21 Events –  Catalyzing Event : The  passing of Former President Corazon C. Aquino  Deepening Ties with the Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats

Slide12Highlights within the LP - 2010 Liberal Party President Senator Mar Roxas initially aspired for the Presidency. Following former President Corazon Aquino’s death in August, calls for Senator Noynoy Aquino to run for President in the 2010 elections prompted Senator Roxas to withdraw from his bid and support Senator Aquino.  Senator Roxas’ sacrifice of putting “Country Above Self” inspired Filipinos to support an Aquino-Roxas candidacy. Aquino and Roxas joined forces to become the most favored tandem in the 2010 elections

Slide13Highlights within the LP - 2010 Benigno S. “Noynoy” Aquino  is elected and proclaimed  President  in June 2010  The Liberal Party obtains  4 seats  in the Senate  and  81 seats  in the H ouse of Representatives , including the  Speaker of the House, Feliciano Belmonte Jr.