Sharing the Road with Visually Challenged Persons and Bicycles
This chapter discusses the laws in New Jersey regarding sharing the road with visually challenged persons using a cane or guide dog. These individuals always have the right of way
- Uploaded on | 2 Views
About Sharing the Road with Visually Challenged Persons and Bicycles
PowerPoint presentation about 'Sharing the Road with Visually Challenged Persons and Bicycles'. This presentation describes the topic on This chapter discusses the laws in New Jersey regarding sharing the road with visually challenged persons using a cane or guide dog. These individuals always have the right of way. The key topics included in this slideshow are . Download this presentation absolutely free.
Slide1Chapter 8Sharing the road with Others
Slide2Visually Challenged PersonsUnder New Jersey law, blind persons using a cane, or accompanied by a guide dog, or a guide dog instructor engaged in teaching a dog to be a guide to the blind, always have the right of way when crossing any highway or intersection
Slide3Bicycles, Skateboards and Rollerblades/In-line Skates Under New Jersey law, bike riders have the same rights and responsibilities as moving motor vehicles. All bicycles ridden after dark must have front and rear reflector lights that can be seen from safe distances.
Slide4Bicycles, Skateboards and Rollerblades/In-line Skates Motorists signaling a right turn must yield to bicyclists, skateboarders and in-line skaters moving through an intersection. To turn left, a bicyclist, skateboarder or in-line skater may choose to use traffic lanes to turn as a vehicle would. Motorists should be aware that a bicyclist, skateboarder or in-line skater may ride on the right edge of the turn lane.
Slide5Motorcycles The same laws governing other motor vehicles govern motorcycles.
Slide6MopedsMotorized bicycles or mopeds are low-speed, two-wheeled vehicles with pedals intended for limited use on public roadways. Moped drivers may not exceed 25 mph, must follow all traffic signs and signals, and drive on the right side of the road with the flow of traffic.
Slide7The No-Zone Principal Avoid the area around trucks where cars disappear into blind spots. Do not move so closely to a truck that the driver’s ability to stop or maneuver effectively is restricted. The potential for a collision is increased for motorists driving in a no-zone.
Slide9Chapter 9Vehicle Information
Slide10Registration• New Jersey motorists must title and register each vehicle before legally driving on public roads. Registration documents must always be available to show to law enforcement, and should be stored in the vehicle or with the driver. • New state residents are required to title and register each vehicle within 60 days of moving into New Jersey. If an out-of-state registration expires before 60 days, new state residents are required to title and register the vehicle before the out-of-state registration expires.
Slide11General Registration Information Passenger vehicle and light truck owners will receive two decals with the registration renewal, which must be displayed in the upper right corner on the vehicle’s front and rear license plates. Motorists must be at least 17 years old to register a vehicle in New Jersey. The fine for driving without a current registration document is $173.
Slide12License Plates For passenger vehicles, attach one plate to the front bumper and one to the rear of the vehicle, at least 12 inches from the ground, but no more than 48 inches. The rear plate should be lit at night and be visible from 50 feet.
Slide13License Plates Using license plate holders that obscure any lettering on the license plate is a violation that could result in a fine of up to $200.
Slide14Vehicle Inspection All gasoline-fueled passenger vehicles, including motorcycles and trucks, manufactured in 2000 or later, do not require inspection for four years after brand-new original purchase. After the initial four-year inspection cycle, these vehicles must be inspected every two years.
Slide15Vehicle InspectionMotorists whose vehicles pass inspection will receive an inspection sticker. Motorists whose vehicles do not pass inspection will have until the end of the next month to make necessary repairs and return for re-inspection at a state or private inspection facility.
Slide16What is Inspected? Window Glazing Brakes and Brake Lights Windshield Wipers Headlights, Taillights, Parking Lights, and Turn Signals Horn Seat Belts Steering Tires and Wheel Alignment Mirrors Emission Test
Slide17Insurance• A New Jersey Insurance Identification Card will be provided by • the insurance company for every vehicle insured under the policy. • This card should remain in the vehicle. Show it before inspection, at an accident scene, if stopped for a traffic violation or for a roadside spot check performed by law enforcement. • Driving an uninsured vehicle can result in fines, community service, license suspension, and insurance surcharges.
Slide18Basic Types of Coverage PIP – Personal Injury Protection - is your medical coverage for injuries you (and others) suffer in an auto accident. Liability - coverage pays others for damages from an auto accident that you cause . Collision - Pays for damage to your vehicle as the result of a collision with another car or other object. Uninsured Motorist - Pays you for property damage or bodily injury if you are in an auto accident caused by an uninsured motorist .
Slide19Driver Safety-Safety should be every motorist’ goal
Slide20Every Motorist………… has the responsibility in keeping NJ roadways safe.
Slide21Road signs and traffic signals….. help motorists remain controlled and directed on roads.
Slide22Road Signs Regulatory Warning Guidance
Slide23Regulatory Signs Signs and Signals that regulate traffic speed and movement They are generally Rectangular in shape and have a Black legend and border on a White background
Slide254 Special Regulatory Signs
Slide26Warning Signs Are for road conditions that need specific caution. Are Yellow and shaped like a Diamond with a Black symbol or word
Slide27Guidance Signs Identify destinations and routes for motorists.
Slide30Emergency Stops Turn on the “Hazard Lights” Put a flare or a warning sign behind the car and 300 feet back (about 120 paces). Raise the hood Put a “white flag” on the car
Slide31Car Failure No matter how well you take care of your car, there is still a chance of car failure.
Slide32Car Failure Brake failure – shift to a lower gear and pump brake pedal hard and fast. If not, use parking brake. Wiper failure – roll down window, put your head out to see, and pull over. Tire blowout – hold steering wheel firmly and keep car going straight. Slow down gradually.
Slide33Car Accidents 3 choices to avoid a collision Stop Quickly Speed Up Turn Quickly
Slide34Reporting an Accident New Jersey law requires that you notify the police of an accident where there is injury, death, or car or property damage.
Slide35What to do in case of an accident Notify authorities Gather information Date, time, and location of accident Name of other driver Address of other driver Name and address of witness Name and department of investigating officer Car license plate number Driver license number Name and address of other driver's insurance company Name and address of injured person Circumstances of accident: weather, condition of road, other conditions